The election and composition of the School Committee is governed by Article VI of the Town Charter. As that portion of the Charter is amended, this information shall also be amended.

The Smithfield School Committee shall consist of five (5) members elected by the qualified voters of the town at large on a partisan basis. The regular election of the School Committee members shall be held on the first (1st) Tuesday next after the first (1st) Monday in November. Members of said committee shall be elected to serve four year (4-year) terms, with their terms staggered in such manner that three (3) members and two (2) members are elected in alternative election years. The terms of the School Committee shall begin on the first (1st) Monday following the certification of their election. All members of the School Committee in office at the time of the taking effect of this Charter shall continue to serve until the expiration of their respective terms or until their successors are elected and qualified.

ADOPTED: Prior to 2017